EFDSS Gold Badge Awards

The English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS) have announced four new recipients of its coveted Gold Badge.

The following will receive a Gold Badge in 2014/15:

  • Maddy Prior, MBE – singer and founder member of the legendary English folk-rock band Steeleye Span
  • Sandra Kerr – singer, songwriter, musician, educator and member of the famous Critics Group founded by Ewan McColl and Peggy Seeger
  • David Leverton – Director of “Nifty”, the National Youth Folklore Troupe of England (NYFTE)
  • Alan Bearman – Music Agent and Artistic Director of Sidmouth Folk Festival

The EFDSS Gold Badge Award celebrates the very best in folk art. It is awarded to those who have made unique or outstanding contributions to the art or science of folk dance, music or song, and/or those who have given exceptional support in furthering the aims of the Society.
More than 150 awards have been made since the Gold Badge was first created in 1922. While many award holders count as household names in the world of folk – Cecil Sharp, Dr Ralph Vaughan Williams, A.L. Lloyd, The Watersons, EFDSS President Shirley Collins MBE and EFDSS Vice President Eliza Carthy, MBE – others are less well known but work tirelessly behind the scenes or in their local communities.

“I am delighted that Maddy, Sandra, David and Alan have been recognised for the important roles they play in their individual fields of the folk arts.
“All four have made and will continue to make their own valuable contribution and helped to inspire generations of folk artists, participants and fans that enables traditional English folk arts to continue to thrive.”
Alan James, EFDSS Chairman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *